24 weeks!

24 WEEKS

HOW BIG IS BABY? 11.81 INCHES WEIGHING 1.32 POUNDS! – ABOUT THE SIZE OF A CANTALOUP 

DEVELOPMENT: MY LITTLE GIRL IS GROWING SO MUCH AND HER HAIR IS BEGINNING TO CHANGE TO TEH COLOR THAT SHE WILL HAVE AT BIRTH! HER WEIGHT WILL DOUBLE IN THE NEXT FOUR WEEKS AND RIGHT NOW SHE WEIGHS ABOUT THE SAME AS A LENGTHY PAPERBACK NOVEL. HER LUNGS ARE DEVELOPING AND PREPARING FOR THEIR FIRST BREATHS. THEY ARE ALSO PRODUCING A SUBSTANCE CALLED SURFACTANT THAT HELPS IN KEEPING THE LUNGS FROM COLLAPSING OR STICKING TOGETHER DURING EXHALATION. LOUD NOISES MAY STARTLE BABY RUSH, WHICH CAUSES A SUDDEN JOLT IN MY UTERUS, SO I WILL TRY NOT TO SCARE HER. DUE TO BABY RUSH’S GROWTH, SPACE IN MY UTERUS IS GETTING REDUCED EVEN FURTHER FOR BABY.

WEIGHT GAIN: I STILL HAVEN’T HAD A CHANCE TO WEIGH MYSELF SINCE I’VE BEEN ON VACATION, BUT I’M REAL NERVOUS TO SEE THE SCALE WHEN I GET HOME.

SLEEP: SAME AS USUAL, BUT NOW EVERY NIGHT AROUDN 7 O’CLOCK MY RIGHT SIDE BY MY RIBCAGE STARTS ACHING REALLY BAD, IT’S LIKE WHEN ONE THING GOES AWAY ANOTHER THING POPS UP. SO WEIRD.

MISSING: BEING HOME. WE HAVE BEEN ON VACATION FOR ALMOST 3 WEEKS NOW, AND WHILE IT HAS BEEN VERY FUN, I MISS BEING ON A SCHEDULE AND BEING HOME. WE GET BACK ON THE 3RD OF JANUARY!

CRAVING: NOT MUCH THIS WEEK

FEELING: HUGE!!! MY BELLY IS GROWING SO FAST AND IT IS EXCITING BUT ALSO DEPRESSING SEEING MYSELF GET BIGGER AND NOT BEING ABLE TO GO HAVE A NICE LONG AND INTESE WORKOUT TO LOSE SOME OF THIS HOLIDAY WEIGHT.

GENDER: BABY GIRL!

BEST MOMENT OF THE WEEK: HAPPY NEW YEAR!! WE HAVE NOT REALLY SAT DOWN TO WRITE DOWN OUR RESOLUTIONS YET, BUT I GUESS ONE OF THEM WOULD BE TO NOT PROCRASTINATE LIKE I HAVE BEEN WITH MY UPDATES LATELY. I WANT TO SEW ANOTHER BLANKET AND SOME DRESSES FOR BABY GIRL, SO I BETTER GET STARTED! I DID ACTUALLY MAKE BABY’S FIRST BABY BLANKET THIS WEEK WITH CORY’S MOM AND I FINALLY LEARNED HOW TO USE MY BERNINA SEWING MACHINE, SO I AM EXCITED TO GET HOME AND USE IT MORE!

LOOKING FORWARD TO: GETTING BACK HOME AND BEING ON A SCHEDULE AND BEING BUSY WITH WORK AGAIN!

Cory and I had our first big scare this past week which started our Christmas Eve off with a trip to the emergency room. What happened was when we were in Idaho my mom had planned for us to go to this awesome hot springs resort called The Springs up in Idaho City. I was a little hesitant to go because I knew that I wasn’t supposed to take hot baths, but my mom (who had 9 kids) said that it would be fine and that the water temperature was only about 80 degrees, so we went and had a great time! I tried not to stay in too long but it was so cold outside it was hard not to, so we took a break and ate in their outdoor heated tent and ate some yummy food. The whole time I was feeling the baby kick and everything seemed to be fine. After our fun night in Idaho City we drove back to Boise which was about an hour away, when we got home I went to the bathroom and noticed that there was a lot of blood in the toilet (first of all sorry for the details) so of course as any other pregnant woman I had a little freak out in my head. I immediately went to Cory and told him, a little bit following after that my stomach started cramping a little bit which scared me even more. I tried to go help Cory wrap some last minute presents but I just couldn’t focus on anything but my baby. Then I went and drank a large glass of orange juice and after I do that I usually get some kicks out of her within the first 10-20 minutes, so I waited and focused and I didn’t feel anything. So I went in our room and began to panic a little bit by myself and Cory came in and told me we should call our OB to see what he had to say. It was about 2:00am in Charleston so they had a different emergency OB on call that night and she said that it would be best if we just went into the emergency room just to make sure everything was okay. So we jumped in the car and drove to the emergency room around 12:30, since I was over 20 weeks along the sent us up to the actual prenatal department and they hooked up me so we could hear the baby’s heartbeat and luckily it was nice and strong! It was a little bit lower than it usually is but it was still a healthy heartbeat. The nurse said that with temperature of the water and the length of time I was in there added an extra rush of blood which put baby R in a deep sleep hence the fact that I wasn’t feeling any of her kicks. Once the nurse put the sound machine on my baby woke right up and and began kicking me hard for the rest of the night.  We were there for about 2 hours waiting for blood results to make sure I wasn’t O negative, because if I was I would have had to stay an extra hour and take a pill that would stop my antibodies from attacking that baby’s blood flow, so good thing that wasn’t the case. We definitely started our Christmas Eve off with a bang! Luckily everything was okay and baby girl was nice and healthy! I’m not looking forward to that emergency room bill to come in the mail though.

Other than the scare we had a wonderful Christmas and a great New Year’s celebration! We headed back to Arizona for new years and went out to a fancy dinner and celebrated with my sister and her friends. We are so excited to see where 2014 takes us, we are in store for a lot including; baby Rush coming in April of course, Cory graduates from Dental school in May and then we will be moving cross country to Arizona on the first week of June. We are going back there while Cory works at his dad’s practice, so we have a very eventful couple of months ahead of us. Let’s just hope that we can find a good house to rent!

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

 

Leave a Reply

