34 weeks!

34 WEEKS

HOW BIG IS BABY? 17.72 INCHES WEIGHING 4.73 LBS POUNDS  – ABOUT THE SIZE OF A CANTALOUPE!

DEVELOPMENT: BABY RUSH ALMOST WEIGHS 5 POUNDS NOW!! AND BY THIS TIME MOST OF THE LANUGO (BODY HAIR) IS GONE. HER IMMUNE SYSTEM IS NO LONGER RELYING ON THE ANTIBODIES FROM MY PLACENTA. THIS SELF-IMMUNITY IS IMPORTANT TO PROTECT MY MINI AT BIRTH AND FOR THE REST OF HER LIFE. THE VERNIX (THICK WHITE LAYER OF PROTECTION PRESENT ON BABY’S SKIN) IS DISAPPEARING; HOWEVER, A LITTLE BIT OF IT WILL STILL BE LEFT AT BIRTH. HER DIGESTIVE SYSTEM IS NOW FULLY WORKING BY ITSELF. AND NOW BABY RUSH IS PEEING UP TO A PINT OF URINE A DAY INTO THE AMNIOTIC FLUID!

WEIGHT GAIN: STILL AT 20 LBS.

SLEEP: I’VE BEEN HAVING A LOT OF BIRTH DREAMS BUT I HAD ONE IN PARTICULAR ONE THAT MADE ME LAUGH A LITTLE. I HAD A DREAM THAT I WAS IN LABOR, BUT INSTEAD OF ME TRYING TO PUSH MY BABY OUT OF MY BELLY, SHE WAS IN A WHITE AIRTIGHT BAG AND IT WAS LAYING ON A TABLE. THE DOCTORS AND NURSES WERE ALL YELLING “PUSH!! YOU’RE ALMOST THERE!! WHILE I WAS STANDING THERE PUSHING HER OUT LIKE A TUBE OF TOOTHPASTE, THEN SHE FINALLY POPPED OUT OF THE BAG AND THAT WAS IT! I WAS SURPRISED THAT DIDN’T HAVE TO GO INTO ACTUAL LABOR AND HOW EASY IT WAS TO “PUSH” HER OUT! HAHA

MISSING: WELL I HAVE RECENTLY BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH GESTATIONAL DIABETES, LUCKILY THEY SAID I AM BORDERLINE, BUT IT IS NOT A FUN THING TO DEAL WITH. I AM NOT A VERY UNHEALTHY EATER, I DON’T DRINK SODA OR COFFEE, I DON’T LIKE CHIPS OR GREASY/FAST FOODS SO IT WAS A LITTLE TAKEN BACK WHEN I TESTED POSITIVE. I DO LOVE CARBS THOUGH, SO THAT WILL BE MY BIGGEST CHALLENGE! SO I GUESS I’LL SAY THAT I MISS BEING ABLE TO EAT OATMEAL OR BREAD WITHOUT THINKING ABOUT MY BLOOD SUGAR. BUT AT LEAST I WILL BE HEALTHIER AND IT WILL HOPEFULLY BE EASIER FOR ME TO LOSE WEIGHT AFTER BABY COMES! 🙂

CRAVING: I HAD THE BIGGEST CRAVING FOR CHOCOLATE CAKE THIS WEEK!! I NEVER WENT AND GOT ANY SO IT IS STILL TEMPTING ME IN THE BACK OF MY MIND.

FEELING: STRETCHED TO THE MAX AND MY MOBILITY IS GETTING HARDER AND HARDER TO MANEUVER. ALSO, THIS BABE LOVES TO KICK UP IN MY RIBS ALL DAY. IT IS STARTING TO GET REAL CROWDED IN THERE SO EVERY MOVEMENT FEELS SO STRETCHED IN MY BELLY. IT ALWAYS MAKE ME HAPPY TO KNOW SHE IS ACTIVE AND DOING WELL IN THERE, DESPITE THE DISCOMFORT.

GENDER: IT’S A GIRL!

BEST MOMENT OF THE WEEK: WELL CORY’S SPRING BREAK STARTED ON MONDAY SO WE TOOK A NICE LONG WALK AROUND DOWNTOWN WITH CURLY (OUR DOG) AND GOT SOME YUMMY LUNCH AT THIS PLACE CALLED THE BLACK BIRD CAFE AND THEN ATE AT THE PARK AND BASKED IN THE SUNLIGHT. IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL DAY! WE ENJOYED EACH OTHERS COMPANY, THE SUNLIGHT AND THE DOWNTOWN ATMOSPHERE WE LIVE IN. THEN THE NEXT DAY CORY FLEW OUT TO DALLAS, TEXAS FOR A VERY IMPORTANT INTERVIEW FOR AN ASSOCIATE DENTIST POSITION. WE HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH A LOT OF UP’S AND DOWN’S THESE PAST TWO MONTHS, IT WOULD BE AWESOME IF WE GET SOME GOOD NEWS ABOUT HIS NEW JOB SOON! BUT IF NOT, I DO BELIEVE THAT EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON AND GOD’S HAND IS GUIDING OUR LIVES. 🙂

LOOKING FORWARD TO: SEEING MY BABY GIRL IN 6 WEEKS!!! …. OR LESS.

My two amazing friends, Heather and Karen planned a beautiful baby shower for me this weekend and let me just say that there is never a dull moment with these two as well as the rest of the beautiful guests. We had a yummy brunch at The Red Drum and my sis in law (who is three weeks ahead of me) came down for it too! It was a great time and I am so grateful to have such wonderful friends and family around me!

3

2

34 WEEKS_3

This is my sister in law, Shanah. She is also prego with a girl!! So these two cousins will be real close.. hopefully. I was so happy to have her at my baby shower.

34 WEEKS_5

Some of the beautiful ladies who attended my baby shower. Thank you thank you thank you for all of your thoughtful gifts!

34 WEEKS_4

4

Following after the baby shower we met up with Cory and my brother (shanah’s hubby) and walked around the beach with their two boys and then enjoyed a delicious lunch at Poe’s down at Isle of Palms. It was a great day!

1

This is from Cory’s first day of spring break, where we enjoyed a nice long walk/lunch downtown Charleston.

34 WEEKS_2 34 WEEKS_1

 

3 comments


Leave a Reply

