35 weeks!


35 WEEKS

HOW BIG IS BABY? 18.19 INCHES WEIGHING 5.25 POUNDS  – ABOUT THE SIZE OF A COCONUT!

DEVELOPMENT: MY GOODNESS, SHE IS ALREADY ALMOST 5 1/2 POUNDS! SHE IS GROWING SO QUICKLY IT’S CRAZY. BABY RUSH WILL START A RAPID WEIGHT GAIN THIS WEEK. FROM NOW UNTIL BIRTH MY BABE WILL GAIN APPROXIMATELY 1/3 OF A POUND PER WEEK. A LOT OF THIS WEIGHT IS THE ALL-IMPORTANT BROWN FAT TO KEEP THIS LITTLE ONE WARM FOR THE FIRST FEW WEEKS AFTER BIRTH. THIS BROWN FAT IS DIFFERENT FROM THE WHITE FAT THAT WE WOMEN KNOW ALL TOO WELL. BROWN FAT CONTAINS MORE CELLS THAT PRODUCE BODY HEAT AND THIS IN TURN PREVENTS HYPOTHERMIA. THIS BROWN FAT APPEARS ON HER UPPER SPINE, BACK AND SHOULDERS. HER CUTE LITTLE CHUBBY CHEEKS ARE FILLED WITH WHITE FAT.

WEIGHT GAIN: 22 LBS!!

SLEEP: OH BOY. SLEEP IS ALMOST NON EXISTANT THESE DAYS. I CANNOT GET COMFORTABLE EVER AND IT SEEMS THAT ONCE I FIND A COMFORTABLE POSITION IT GETS UNCOMFORTABLE AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES AND THEN I’M UP AGAIN MOVING AROUND. ALTHOUGH, WITH ALL THIS WAKING UP I HAVE EVEN MORE RANDOM DREAMS THAT I WAKE UP KIND OF LAUGHING, BUT I CAN NEVER REMEMBER THEM IN THE MORNING.

MISSING: BEING ABLE TO EAT CHOCOLATE CAKE IF I WANTED TO! HAHA I AM STILL CRAVING THAT CHOCOLATE CAKE THAT I CRAVED LAST WEEK. I FINALLY CAVED AND GOT MYSELF A SLICE OF CHOCOLATE CAKE. IT WAS DIVINE!!!

CRAVING: AS MENTIONED ABOVE, CHOCOLATE CAKE. I ALSO HAD A REALLY RANDOM CRAVING FOR POTATO CHIPS TODAY AND I REALLY DON’T LIKE POTATO CHIPS AT ALL! I DIDN’T GIVE IN TO THAT CRAVING EITHER… YOU SHOULD BE PROUD.

FEELING: VERY LARGE AND IN CHARGE. I HATE NOT BEING ABLE TO DO NORMAL THINGS WITHOUT FEELING A LITTLE CRIPPLED BY THE SIZE OF MY BELLY. AND SPEAKING OF THE SIZE OF MY BELLY, I FEEL LIKE IT DOUBLED IN SIZE BECAUSE I AM KNOCKING IT INTO EVERYTHING THESE DAYS!

GENDER: IT’S A GIRL!

BEST MOMENT OF THE WEEK: WE WENT TO MY OB AND SHE SAID MY GESTATIONAL DIABETES IS NOT BAD AT ALL, SO THE RISKS INVOLVED ARE VERY LOW! BUT JUST TO MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS LOOKING OKAY WE ARE GOING TO HAVE AN ULTRASOUND IN TWO WEEKS. SO I AM EXCITED TO SEE MY LITTLE ONE ONE MORE TIME BEFORE HER ACTUAL BIRTH! ANOTHER GREAT MOMENT, WE SOLD OUR BEDSET A FEW WEEKS AGO SO CORY HAS BEEN WITHOUT A DRESSER FOR A LITTLE WHILE, AND WHILE I WAS SEARCHING ON CRAIGSLIST FOR A TEMPORARY ONE BEFORE WE LEAVE, I ENDED UP FINDING THIS AWESOME WARDROBE FROM IKEA THAT IS PRETTY BIG FOR ONLY $150 (REGULARLY $800) SO WE ENDED UP GETTING IT AND WE SET IT ALL UP SATURDAY NIGHT AND NOW I FINALLY HAVE SOME STORAGE TO GET MY NESTING FIX ON AND ACTUALLY HAVE A PLACE TO PUT EVERYTHING INCLUDING ALL OF BABY’S CLOTHES!

LOOKING FORWARD TO: OUR 2 YEAR WEDDING ANNIVERSARY ON THE 24TH!

This week has been a pretty good one! Cory had his spring break this week (March 10-14) and he had the opportunity to fly out to Texas for an interview with a potential employer as an associate dentist! It was out in Dallas, Texas and even though we have both never been there we have a really good feeling about moving there. The funny thing about this Dr. looking to hire Cory is we found out a crazy webbed connection with him. My brother went to dental school in Louisville, KY and that is where (I’ll call him Dr. X) Dr. X went to school, but he went to school there about 5 years before my brother, so we figured they didn’t know each other, until we told my brother, Trevor about it. Then Trevor and Shanah (his wife) asked for his full name and realized that Dr. X is actually the brother of one of his dental school colleagues wife.. it’s kind of confusing. But his wife (Dr. X’s sister) contacted me and had me design their dental logo last year after her husband graduated for their new practice up in Idaho. I have also designed their Christmas cards as well, so Dr. X has probably gotten one of my designed Christmas cards in the mail over Christmas. Then the other crazy connection that we came to find out is that Dr. X and his sister are actually my brother-in-law’s cousins! What are the odds of that random connection?? But anyway, Cory said the interview went well and we are now just waiting for Dr. X to get back to us on whether he got the job or not! We are crossing our fingers!! But if Cory doesn’t get this position, we know that everything happens for a reason and we will go wherever the Lord has planned for us.

Meanwhile I have been working like crazy to get the rest of my clients done! That way I won’t have any work when the baby comes and I can just focus on her and (hopefully) getting some rest!! Cory and I have been going on a lot of walks and enjoying the warm days we have here in Charleston. This winter/early spring has been so up and down and it drives me crazy! Last year the weather was perfect around this time and we rarely had a day below 50. Now it goes from 75 and drops to 55 and rains and is gloomy out and then it slowly creeps up to another beautiful 70 degree day and then drops again. I am not a fan. Spring needs to officially get here already so I can go on as many walks and hubby time outside as much as possible before our baby comes and I’m stuck inside for a little while.

2

The left picture is my desk, getting ready to send out packages to my clients!
The right picture is a snapshot that I’m sure I will miss after this baby comes. I’m going to miss her little kicks and I’m going to miss being able to rest my cups and many other random things on my belly. That cup is the one I kind of made for my little girl on Valentine’s day.

1

Pictures of us enjoying these beautiful Charleston days and finding new bakeries to try out, I love living downtown.

bday

This week was also filled with birthdays! It was my sweet and beautiful mama’s birthday on the 16th. She is such and inspiration and example as to what a mother is supposed to be and I couldn’t be more grateful to have her as my mom.
It was also my beautiful friend Kassie’s birthday on the 16th and our good friend Dave’s birthday on the 17th so there was much singing and cake to be had!

4

This week we also invested in a HUGE IKEA wardrobe to fit all of baby’s stuff and our stuff in. Things are just getting a little too crowded in our tiny downtown apartment and we are accumulating too much stuff so it was really nice to finally get another unit where we can hide away a lot of our non stored items. Baby Rush has a lot of clothes to wear before she gets bigger so let’s hope she doesn’t grow too fast!
Also, setting it up was quite an ordeal because the wardrobe is about 7’10” high and our ceilings are only 8″ tall and it is also about 6′ wide so poor Cory had to work some serious magic!
image

I couldn’t help but post this ADORABLE swimsuit from Janie and Jack!! They have the cutest summer wear right now!

Leave a Reply

